NOFMA, The Wood Flooring Manufacturers Association, has been certifying that members’ flooring products are correctly manufactured since before 1930. Other associations with written grade rules and standards for the manufacture of wood flooring are MFMA (Maple Flooring Manufacturers Association), CLA (Canadian Lumbermen’s Association), and SPIB (Southern Pine Inspection Bureau).

In today’s market place, certification of wood flooring is available from two perspectives. Flooring can be certified as to how it is manufactured or the flooring raw material can be certified as having come from properly managed forests. Certification of the manufacturing process has been in place for many years.

About NOFMA CWFI (Certified Wood Flooring Inspector) Certification:

NOFMA Hardwood Flooring Inspectors are certified after completing an extensive training and review program. NOFMA’s certified wood-flooring inspectors must undergo extensive training in all aspects having to do with hardwood flooring manufacturing standards, installation guidelines and procedures, grading and performance of wood flooring. Once Inspectors have been trained and have passed the examination, they must prove their ability by submitting written reports for review as well as schedule a series of NOFMA supervised field inspections.

NOFMA inspectors are trained, qualified and certified to inspect solid wood flooring and engineered wood flooring following Industry Standards and Grading Rules of NOFMA and HPVA/HPVA EF 2002 Standards for Engineered Wood Flooring.

Most inspectors Certified by NOFMA spend a minimum of 2 years under the guidance of Technical Director, Mickey Moore and the NOFMA Inspectors Certification Board. Mr. Moore has held the position of Technical Director since 1988, a graduate of the University of Memphis with a degree in wood working technology and biology. Mr. Moore is respected as the Wood Flooring Technical Expert in the field of wood flooring manufacture and Flooring Failure Analyst.

NOFMA inspector reports and inspection techniques are under constant scrutiny and review to insure inspector knowledge and integrity. NOFMA inspectors are regarded and respected as the premier Certified Hardwood Flooring Inspectors due to the extensive requirements of the NOFMA Inspectors Certification Program.

The National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) is a Non-Profit trade association representing all segments of the hardwood flooring industry, including Inspectors, Manufacturers, Distributors, Retailers and Installers.

The NWFA provides Installation Training, Sales Training, Inspection Certification Training and Technical Support to the Hardwood Flooring Industry.
Members of the NWFA include Importers, Manufacturers, Installers and Retailers who benefit from the promotional efforts to increase wood sales and Professional Training offered throughout the United States and Canada.

Certified Professionals – Hardwood Inspectors
The National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) developed a program to recognize and promote competent wood flooring contractors and certify inspectors.
The NWFACP’s Inspector Certification program recognizes competence and understanding in the inspection of wood flooring.
Inspectors are required to pass the Inspector Certification Test consisting of five written exams, and complete five (5) reviewed reports within a 12 month time period. After passing the test and completing the written reports, full certification status is awarded. Certification Training is not required.

Stages of certification:

CWFIP: Certified Wood Flooring Inspector Provisional
CWFI: Certified Wood Flooring Inspector
Once CWFI is obtained dues and fees must be maintained, submit three (3) written reports per year and obtain 10 Continuing Education Units within a 3 year time period.
The NWFACP is a stand-alone corporation that offers a variety of certification programs for the wood flooring industry.

The Wood and Laminate Flooring Inspector course teaches an understanding of woods and laminates, identification and wood/laminate concerns. This course covers the following: types of materials, manufacturing processes, handling, transportation, distribution network, specifications, substrates/subfloors, installation methods, maintenance, cleaning, inspection procedures, warranties, report writing, risk management, expert witness, and accepted industry practices and standards as each relates to inspections.

(Prerequisite: IICRC Certification in SSI or ISSI)